Vigil Information




Nominate a Brotherhood member for Vigil

View 2008 Vigil Reunion Photos

The latest issue of the Ajapeu Vigil Newsletter - Keeping the Flame


It is time to begin the selection process for the Vigil Honor. This process requires information that you, the nominator, must provide to aid the selection committee. The nomination form has been designed to make this process clearer and easier. Please fill out the nomination form with as much information as possible that best describes the nominee as a Vigil Honor candidate. This excerpt from the Order of the Arrow Handbook will help you understand the qualities of a Vigil Honor member:

"The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position or office to one or more of the following: their lodge, the Order of the Arrow, Scouting, or their Scout camp. Under no circumstances should tenure in Scouting or the Order of the Arrow be considered as reason enough for a Vigil Honor recommendation."

Any active member of Ajapeu Lodge can nominate any lodge member, provided that the nominee:

  • Is registered in some capacity with the Bucks County Council
  • Is an active (current dues paid) member of the Lodge
  • Has completed two years as a Brotherhood member as of May 1st of the year in which they are nominated.

The submission of a completed nomination form does not in any way guarantee that the nominee will be selected for the Honor. Elections and final approval of all candidates rest with the Lodge Vigil Committee and the National Order of the Arrow Committee. Any Arrowmen who were nominated in the previous year must be re-nominated to be eligible for selection. Send completed forms to:

Ajapeu Lodge #33
1 Scout Way
Doylestown, PA 18901

Vigil Honor Recipients

 List of Vigil Honor Recipients from Ajapeu Lodge.

Vigils Wanted

The Vigil Committee is looking for Ajapeu Lodge #33 vigils that have fallen out of contact with the lodge. Dennis Hallman is collecting addresses and email addresses for these lost vigils and anyone with information about these names are asked to email him information.



1947 – Frederick B. Schneck

1949 – Carl J. Foell, Edwin Reibel, Robert Wright

1954 – Kenneth Armour, William J. Gates, Robert T. Hays

1955 – Elmer T. Curren

1958 – Lamar C. Heckler

1959 – David W. Hunt, Stanley C. Hunter, Joseph D. Nickolas

1960 – James K. Fee, Robert Hochwald, Benjamin Vaught

1961 – John W. Mayer

1962 – Charles Briscoe, Paul Gibson

1963 – Thomas Greene, Bruce Herdman, Walter Tees

1964 – Wesley B. Cloud Sr., Peter J. Farley, Donald W. Gallagher Jr.

1965 – Wesley P. Cloud Jr., Ernest C. Hamilton, Gene Nuse, William R. Whitworth

1966 – George Hesser Jr., Donald McBane

1967 – Paul Atkinson, Jonathan Jager, William Nagle

1968 – Joseph Lelinski Sr., David Mitman, David P. Pluta

1969 – Joseph E. Kingcade Jr., Richard Whitworth

1970 – James P. Armstrong, Theodore Ehas, Robert A. Patterson, Lee Schleicher, Joseph Smith

1971 – Bruce Bower III, Andrew B. Carlin, Daniel P. Danner, John K. O’Connell

1972 – Stephan M. Knight, Edward L. McKenna, Paul Nielsen, Richard Wisneski

1973 – William Ide, James Kauffman, Raymond P. Kronenbitter, Stephan P. Payne, David R. Robbins, Everett H. Scott, Edward P. Walsh

1974 – Austin Brambani Sr., Gary Erkes, Paul J. Malaspina, James D. Oliver Jr., Pete Whitney

1975 – Timothy A.Whitney

1976 – Donald R. Keller, William W. Miller, Mark A. Vail, Harry L. Vanderveer, Alan T. Weinhold

1977 – Michael East

1978 – Otto Bressler, Paul Felkner,Timothy Kresge, Thomas Lanzi, Donald McHale, Timothy Mosher

1979 – Allen L. Boblitt, Glenn T. Kresge, Timothy S. McDaniel, Donald F. Phillips

1980 – John F. Gardner, George L. Schneider

1981 – Gerald J. Bonner, Robert A. Ellison, Glenn P. Williams

1982 – Stephan J. Denig Jr.

1983 – James Moore, Douglas Russell, Lewis Williams

1984 – Kurt Sauers

1986 – Richard Sauers, James P. Schulz, John A. Schulz

1987 --Glenn M Freen

1991 – Brian P. Freeh

1992 – James E. Davies

Washington Crossing Council, Boy Scouts of America
1 Scout Way
Doylestown, PA 18901
Member Login